I Call My Dog's Butt, "Tussi"

Teen pregnancies and marijuana | January 20, 2007

Okay, so today I got 2 movies for you.  Well, actually 1 movie and 1 movie genre.  Today I’m reviewing Dazed and Confused and Lifetime movies.

First:

“Slow ride, take it easy.”  Dazed and Confused is fantastic.  It was made in 1993 and it reflects the last day of school in 1976 Texas.  We see the incoming seniors and incoming freshmen.  The incoming seniors have a tradition to follow and that is to haze the incoming freshmen.  The boys get paddled and the girls get bitched at and food thrown on them.  There are a lot of B-list celebs and a couple A-list celebs in this movie.  Ben Affleck is in this movie as well as Matthew Maconohay.  Ben Affleck is a totale asshole in this movie.  His character is not liked by anyone, and yet people still like him.  Matthew is a creep.  He’s a 30 year old who likes high school girls.  His best line, “I get older and they stay the same age.”  He is such a creep in this movie, but you gotta like him.  This movie has the best music in it.  It’s all classic rock from the 70s.  I sing along to all the songs in this movie.  It’s great.  And let me give a shout out to the muscle cars in this movie, too.  They are fabulous.  Amanda B. wanted to make out with every car in that movie.  And if you haven’t guessed by the title of the movie, they smoke a lot of weed in this movie.  A lot.  There are only a few people who aren’t stoned.  One character is wasted the entire movie.  Favorite character[s] are the nerdy guys and gal.  Love ’em.  Watch the movie and you’ll know who I’m talking about.  If you haven’t seen this movie, go now.  It’s funny.

Second:

Lifetime.  Lifetime has created their own genre of movies.  In this genre there are basically 2 categories.  The first category is abused/battered spouse/girlfriend/child, the second is teen pregnancy, the third is eating disorder.  Am I missing any others?  I have only seen 3 Lifetime movies, they’re not really my favorite thing to watch.  I know a few of my friends love them, though.  In my Food and Nutrition class in high school we watched 2 eating disorder ones and a teen pregnancy one.  I don’t know why the pregnancy one was thrown in.  All of these movies have a moral to them.  They make you cry (a whole lot), and laugh a little (not much, though).  I never understand why people can watch these things.  I for one think that they’re boring.  But some people can sit down on a rainy day with some popcorn and tea and watch these movies all day.  I give kudos to those people.

Suggestions?


1 Comment »

  1. In this genre there are basically 2 categories. The first category is abused/battered spouse/girlfriend/child, the second is teen pregnancy, the third is eating disorder.

    Comment by Amanda — January 23, 2007 @ 2:50 am


Leave a comment

About author

Well, to start off, I am an Irish Catholic and a Jew, hence my username. But I think I am an atheist. I LOVE movies. And TV. I think Hugh Jackman is gorgeous. I go to school in CT.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds