I Call My Dog's Butt, "Tussi"

Puppets and Irish Avengers | February 4, 2007

I got two movies for you tonight.  They’re good ones, but on the opposite end of the genre list.  One’s a fantasy, the other is an action.  Both are excellent.

First:

Labyrinth.  It’s a Jim Henson movie, so of course there are going to be puppets in it, and boy are there puppets.  Oh yeah, David Bowie is also a lead character.  Yes, I said David Bowie.  He has this great wig that’s indescribable and wonderful tight pants.  He sings all the songs for the movie.  It’s not a musical, he does the background music, except for 2 songs which are sung in the movie.  It’s about a girl who is really into plays and stories and fantasy.  She is a brat.  Her father and stepmother are going out for the night and she ends up having to babysit her baby brother, Tobey.  But he starts crying and she gets pissed and tells him a story about how goblins take him away to the goblin King.  It ends up happening and she has to save him.  He’s in Goblin City in the center of the Labyrinth.  David Bowie plasy the Goblin King.  He tells her she has 13 hours to save Tobey or he turns into a goblin forever.  So on the way to the center she meets all kinds of creatures and even becomes friends with some of them.  All of the creatures are puppets, mind you.  Some of them are creatures that are from stories and books and stuffed animals that are in her room.  I won’t spoil the ending, but I bet you can figure it out.  It’s a great movie if you like fantasy and David Bowie.  I always get in the mood to watch it and I sing along to the songs.  It’s a good movie for kids, too.  Though they may get frightened by some of the creatures in it.  See it.

Second:

Boondock Saints.  I think everyone has seen this movie.  It’s definitely a must see.  It has Sean Patrick Flannery and Willem Dafoe in it.  Willem is my fave.  He plays a gay FBI agent who doesn’t look gay and yells at all the gay people as if he was a basher.  He’s hilarious.  He investigates to operas. Sean Patrick is 1 of two brothers who are Irish,with accents and everything, who get a message from God telling them to kill bad people.  They mainly kill mafia people.  It’s set in Boston.  The public like them very much, and so does Willem.  The boys are accompanied by a delivery boy from the Italian Mafia.  He’s their friend, but he’s an eff-up.  This movie is funny and moving and awesome.  You don’t undstand what the hell the irish guys are saying, but it’s wonderful.  If you haven’t seen it, then you really should.


1 Comment »

  1. I think you should talk about some upcoming previews.

    Comment by amandabenz — February 5, 2007 @ 3:54 am


Leave a comment

About author

Well, to start off, I am an Irish Catholic and a Jew, hence my username. But I think I am an atheist. I LOVE movies. And TV. I think Hugh Jackman is gorgeous. I go to school in CT.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds